Hell on Earth – Wayward Pines

I am currently watching a programme on TV that is horrific but completely compelling and addictive.  The TV show that is causing these feelings is called Wayward Pines.

I watched the first episode of the first series with my husband and neither of us really understood what was going on.  The rest of the series sat on our DVR for months and months until one day I watched the second episode on my own.  My husband had told me he had no interest in watching the rest of the series and he was out so I sat down to episode two.  It started to get more interesting: I watched more episodes.

I then was at the stage where I had six episodes left and it was Saturday morning.  I managed to do my housework around the TV’s so I could keep watching.  I even stood in the lounge and did the ironing so I could keep watching.  I was totally addicted and checked online that there was a series two.

Series two is on the TV.  I must know what happens and where it’s going but it’s horrendous!

This show taps into my biggest fear.  This series is filled with ‘Abbies’.  The Abbies are aberrations; basically humans have mutated into these ‘things’ that attack, kill and eat humans.  They are absolutely terrifying because I do think that this is not outside the realms of possibility.

It reminds me of watching ‘I Am Legend’; it was autumn and the nights were drawings in so it was dark by the time I got home.  I remember sitting in the car one evening waiting for someone to walk along the road so I could make a run for the house.  The mutants on I Am Legend came out at night and attacked people.  I had this totally irrational fear that there was one of these things on my roof waiting to jump down while I was unlocking the front door!  If you recall, people started to mutate after a virus infected people.  The virus was originally supposed to cure cancer but something went wrong and there they were with just Will Smith and his dog roaming the earth amongst nocturnal mutants.

All sorts of drugs and viruses are being developed and used and no one knows the long term effects and whether there will be any side effects.  Films and series that show something terrifying but plausible are the worst!

I don’t want to spoil anyone’s enjoyment of the show who may not be at the same episode as me so I’d say watch it but be prepared for one of those shows where you are constantly braced to jump but it still makes you jump.

I never watch horror shows and could never watch something like The Walking Dead.  I feel I was lulled into a false sense of security with this show and I’ve ended up with a show where I squish myself into the back corner of the sofa and have all the lights blaring in the house before I watch it.

What annoys me the most is my husband and I are also watching ‘Zoo’.  My Mum and Dad also watch it so at least I’m not alone but what has appeared in this show now – yes, that’s right, blinking mutant humans!!  What is going on in TV land?!  Terrifying mutant animals are bad enough but mutant humans again, come on!

I only know one other person who’s watching Wayward Pines so tell me, are you watching it?  What do you think?  Is it the type of show you expected it to be?

2 thoughts on “Hell on Earth – Wayward Pines

Leave a Reply

